Bella Coola Valley Museum - BC Central Coast Archives
Home History Archives Photograph Collection Resources Maps Links Contact Us



Digital Heritage Project

What's New
What's New

 

269 Highway 20
Box 726
Bella Coola, B.C.
V0T 1C0

Phone: 250-799-5767
(June-September)

Phone: 250-982-2130
(Archives)

Historic Theme Pages

Norwegian Settlement in the Bella Coola Valley

HBC PostIn 1894, approximately 80 Norwegian people emigrated from Minnesota to Bella Coola, becoming the largest non-Native settlement group in the valley. It is important to note that about 8 non-Native people were living in the valley prior to 1894, including the families of John Clayton and Thor Thorsen. The Nuxalkmc, of course, occupied the valley and the outer coast for thousands of years prior to contact with Europeans.

Why Bella Coola?

Spurred by an economic depression in the United States and disagreement within the Lutheran Church, Reverend Christian Saugstad, a member of a Norwegian settlement in Crookston, Minnesota, was looking for a new location for his congregation. At the same time, the Canadian government was encouraging Scandinavian, German and British immigrants to settle in British Columbia . Furthermore, a Norwegian anthropologist, B.F. Jacobsen had written favourably about Bella Coola as being ideal for settlement. He described the area as having plenty of fertile land, abundant natural resources, and an environment much like Norway, with its snow-capped mountain peaks and long fjords.

The Beginning:

As part of an agreement with the Minister of Immigration, each settler was offered the deed to 160 acres upon clearing the land, building a house and improving the property. On October 27, 1894 the colonists and five additional Norwegians from Seattle left Victoria on the Princess Louise, and three days later they entered the North Bentinck Arm. Local native peoples and Captain Thor Thorsen's daughter met them in spoon canoes, and took the settlers and their goods up the Bella Coola River. Their first winter was spent building homes, packing supplies and clearing land. The next year's highlights included the first public meeting, a post office in Bella Coola run by Thor Thorsen, the arrival of 98 new colonists, additional roads and bridges, collection of taxes, a general store and post office in Kristiania (later called Hagensborg) by Hagen Christiansen, the first Norwegian wedding, planting gardens, and building a school.

Moving the Community:

In 1904 the settlers began to build a town on the north side of the Bella Coola River. Many businesses began here and some were moved over from the south side. A mile long wharf and bridges across the Bella Coola River were also erected for this community. Most of the Native community at Q’umk’uts also decided to move over to the area. Although the location was ideal for receiving goods brought by ship, it was also subject to severe flooding. In the 1930's Nuxalk and Norwegian residents were forced to move back to the south side of the river.

« Back to Norwegian Settlement


Home History Archives Photo Collection Resources Maps Links Contact Us

Privacy Policy   Sitemap    
© Bella Coola Valley Museum &
Ingenius Webdesign

Bella Coola Valley Museum - BC Central Coast Archives
Accueil Histoire Archives Collection de photographies Ressources documentaires Cartes Liens Contactez-nous

 


Projet d'images
numériques du
patrimoine


 

269 Highway 20
Box 726
Bella Coola, B.C.
V0T 1C0

Téléphone:
250-799-5767
(June-September)

Téléphone:
250-982-2130
(Archives)

La colonie des norvégiens

HBC PostC'est en 1894 que 80 norvégiens émigrent du Minnesota à Bella Coola et forment la plus importante colonie non aborigène de la vallée. Notons cependant que huit personnes non aborigènes vivaient déjà dans la vallée avant 1894, parmi lesquelles les familles de John Clayton et Thor Thorsen. Les Nuxalkmc occupaient la vallée et la côte avoisinante depuis des milliers d'années avant le tout premier contact avec l'Européen.

Pourquoi Bella Coola?

Stimulé par une dépression économique aux USA et par une dispute au sein de l'Église luthérienne, le Révérend Christian Saugstad, un membre la colonie norvégienne de Crookston, au Minnesota, était à la recherche d'un nouvel endroit pour y installer sa congrégation. En ce temps-là, le gouvernement du Canada encourageait les Scandinaves, les Allemands et les Anglais à venir s'installer en Colombie Britannique. En outre, un anthropologue norvégien, B.F. Jacobsen, avait décrit la région de Bella Coola comme un lieu favorable aux pionniers. Il décrivait la région comme très fertile et très vaste, riche en ressources naturelles, et son environnement similaire à celui de la Norvège, avec ses sommets perpétuellement enneigés et ses fjords interminables.

Les débuts.

Dans le cadre des accords conclus avec le Ministre de l'immigration, chaque colon se voit offrir le titre de 160 acres au terme du défrichage, de la construction d'une maison, et du développement de la propriété. Le 27 octobre 1894, les futurs colons, accompagnés de cinq norvégiens supplémentaires venus de Seattle, quitteront Vitoria à bord du Princess Louise, pour entrer, trois jours plus tard, dans le bras (fjord) de North Bentinck. Les indigènes, accompagnés de la fille du Capitaine Thor Thorsen, viennent à leur rencontre en pirogues, et ils remontent la rivière Bella Coola avec tous les bagages. Ils passeront le premier hiver à construire leurs maisons, faire des réserves et défricher la terre. L'année suivante sera marquée par leur première réunion, la fondation du bureau de poste de Bella Coola - tenu par Thor Thorsen, et par l'arrivée de quatre-vingt dix-huit colons de plus. On ouvrira des chemins, on construira des ponts, on fera la collecte des taxes, on ouvrira un bureau de poste et magasin général à Kristiania (renommée plus tard Hagensborg) - tenu par Hagen Christiansen, et l'on célèbre le premier mariage norvégien. On plante les premiers jardins; on construit la première école.

Le déménagement d'une communauté.

En 1904 les colons entreprennent de construire une ville sur la berge boréale de la rivière Bella Coola. Plusieurs affaires y démarrent; certaines même quittent la berge australe. On y construit un appontement d'un mile de long. Les ponts enjambent la rivière Bella Coola. La majorité des autochtones Q’umk’uts décide aussi de se joindre à l'exode. Mais, si l'emplacement est propice à la réception des marchandises par bateau, il est aussi sujet à de grandes inondations. Ainsi, pendant les années 1930, les autochtones et les norvégiens se voient forcés de re-déménager sur la rive sud de la rivière.

 

« Retour a la colonie des norvégiens


Accueil
Histoire Archives Collection de photographies
Ressources documentaires
Cartes Liens Contactez-nous

Politique Sur Les Renseignements Confidentiels
© Le musée de la Vallée Bella Coola &
Ingenius Webdesign