Bella Coola Valley Museum - BC Central Coast Archives
Home History Archives Photograph Collection Resources Maps Links Contact Us



Digital Heritage Project

What's New
What's New

 

269 Highway 20
Box 726
Bella Coola, B.C.
V0T 1C0

Phone: 250-799-5767
(June-September)

Phone: 250-982-2130
(Archives)

A Brief History

For generations the Nuxalkmc have occupied the Bella Coola Valley amidst the magnificent mountains and lush forests of the central coast of British Columbia. Their aboriginal culture, rich in material and ceremonial wealth, was first encountered by Europeans in 1793, when explorer Alexander Mackenzie, his voyageurs, and native guides completed the first recorded crossing of North America. Seven weeks prior to Mackenzie’s visit, Captain George Vancouver’s surveyors had charted North Bentinck Arm. Traveling the historic Nuxalk-Carrier Grease Trail, Mackenzie’s party preceded the American government-financed Lewis and Clark expedition by twelve years.

From 1848 onwards, Bella Coola was a busy port and supply centre for the Interior. In 1867 the Hudson’s Bay Company established a trading post in Bella Coola. By 1892, sixteen non-native residents had settled in the Valley; two years later homesteads were granted to a large group of Norwegian-speaking colonists – many of whom became the first commercial loggers, fishermen and farmers in the area. The seeds of future tourism were sown in 1938, with the opening of Tweedsmuir Provincial Park: the largest in B.C.

Through the first half of the twentieth century Bella Coola remained isolated from the rest of the province. Local labour and volunteer effort changed this in 1953, when the “Freedom Road” was pushed over the mountains to Anahim Lake. Now connected to the provincial highway system, the Valley became the “Third Outlet to the Pacific”.


Home History Archives Photo Collection Resources Maps Links Contact Us

Privacy Policy   Sitemap    
© Bella Coola Valley Museum &
Ingenius Webdesign

Bella Coola Valley Museum - BC Central Coast Archives
Accueil Histoire Archives Collection de photographies Ressources documentaires Cartes Liens Contactez-nous

 


Projet d'images
numériques du
patrimoine


 

269 Highway 20
Box 726
Bella Coola, B.C.
V0T 1C0

Téléphone:
250-799-5767
(June-September)

Téléphone:
250-982-2130
(Archives)

Sommaire historique

Les Nuxalkmc ont habité la Vallée Bella Coola au cours de plusieurs générations parmi les magnifiques montagnes et les forêts luxuriantes de la Côte Centrale de la CB.

Les Européens furent les premiers à rencontrer à l’improviste ce groupe autochtone doté de maintes richesses matérielles et de rituels traditionnels à la suite d’une expédition en 1793 avec en tête l’explorateur Alexander Mackenzie accompagné de voyageurs et de guides indigènes durant laquelle ils complétèrent le premier passage de l’Amérique du Nord à être jamais enregistré. Sept semaines précédant la visite de Mackenzie, les arpenteurs du Capitaine George Vancouver avaient porté sur la carte le Bras Bentinck Nord. Le groupe de Mackenzie, empruntant le sentier historique Nuxalk-Carrier Grease, devanca de 12 ans l’expédition de Lewis et Clark financé par le gouvernement Américain.

À partir de 1848, Bella Coola était devenu un port très achalandé et un centre de commodités pour l’Intérieur. En 1867 la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson établissa un comptoir commercial à Bella Coola. Déjà en 1892, 16 résidents non-autochtones s’étaient établis dans la Vallée ; deux ans plus tard, des terres étaient allouées à un large groupe de colons de langue norvégienne – dont plusieurs furent les premiers à entreprendre des commerces de coupes de bois, de pêche et d’agriculture à travers la région. Le début d’un futur touristique fut amorcé en 1938 lors de l’ouverture du Parc Provincial Tweedsmuir, le plus large en CB à cette époque.

Bella Coola demeurera en isolement du reste de la province durant la première moitié du vingtième siècle. Par contre, la situation changera en 1953 lorsque la ¨Route de la Liberté¨ fut prolongée au-delà des montagnes jusqu’au lac Anahim à la suite d’efforts provenant d’ouvriers locaux et de bénévoles. Dorénavant reliée au système provincial d’autoroutes, la Vallée devint ¨La Troisième Embouchure sur le Pacifique¨.


Accueil
Histoire Archives Collection de photographies
Ressources documentaires
Cartes Liens Contactez-nous

Politique Sur Les Renseignements Confidentiels
© Le musée de la Vallée Bella Coola &
Ingenius Webdesign